2016-2020 Research Associates

Research Associates of the NSRL are "professionals, who may or may not be employees of Texas Tech University, who are associated in a professional manner with the collections and/or the personnel of the NSRL." They are appointed by the Executive Director of the Museum to serve 5-year terms (renewable). The appointment is honorary and there is no financial remuneration for the appointment. The responsibilities of a Research Associate include carrying out field and laboratory research and scholarly activities in association with the professional staff of the NSRL, and promoting the NSRL through the production of collections-based research and scholarly activities. The students of Research Associates often utilize the resources of the NSRL to complete the requirements for their graduate degrees. Since 1970 the collaborative relationships between the NSRL and the Research Associates have been profitable for Texas Tech University, the Museum of Texas Tech University, and the science of mammalogy.

Research Associates at Texas Tech University

Research Associate Department
Ronald K. Chesser Biological Sciences
James C. Cokendolpher Museum, Retired
Llewellyn D. Densmore Biological Sciences
Ronald Kendall The Institute of Environmental and Human Health
Tigga Kingston Biological Sciences
Joseph Manthey Biological Sciences
Liam McGuire Biological Sciences
Carl Phillips Biological Sciences, Retired
David Ray Biological Sciences
Brenda E. Rodgers Biological Sciences
Jorge Salazar-Bravo Biological Sciences
Annette Sobel TTU and TTUHSC, Medical Education


Research Associates at other institutions:

Research Associate


Brian R. Amman

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention


Loren K. Ammerman

Angelo State University


John W. Bickham

Texas A&M University (emeritus)


Joel G. Brant

McMurry University


Janet K. Braun

Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History, University of Oklahoma


Daniel M. Brooks

Houston Museum of Natural Science


James J. Bull

University of Texas at Austin


Santiago Burneo

Pontificia Universidad Católica del Ecuador


Darin S. Carroll

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention


Serena A. Carroll

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention


Gerardo Ceballos González

Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México


Liliana Davalos

State University of New York at Stony Brook


Robert C. Dowler

Angelo State University


Jerry W. Dragoo

University of New Mexico


Cody W. Edwards

George Mason University


Scott V. Edwards

Harvard University


Mark D. Engstrom

Royal Ontario Museum


David Etheredge

South Plains College


Adam W. Ferguson

The Field Museum


Charles F. Fulhorst

University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston (retired)


Sergey Gaschak

International Radioecology Laboratory, Ukraine


Hugh H. Genoways

University of Nebraska State Museum (emeritus)


Jennifer Girón

University of Kansas


Jim R. Goetze

Laredo Community College


Meredith J. Hamilton

Oklahoma State University


John Delton Hanson

Columbus State University


Kristofer M. Helgen

University of Adelaide, Australia


Federico G. Hoffmann

Mississippi State University


Rodney L. Honeycutt

Pepperdine University


Steven Hoofer

Sedgwick County Regional Forensic Science Center

Frederick J. Jannett Jr.

University of Minnesota

Mariko Kageyama

Law practice, Seattle, Washington


Sara Kerr

University of the Incarnate Word


Gary G. Kwiecinski

University of Scranton


Peter A. Larsen

University of Minnesota


Roxanne J. Larsen

University of Minnesota


Tom Lee

Abilene Christian University


David (Chip) Leslie

Oklahoma State University


Celia López-González

Instituto Politécnico Nacional, Mexico


Kateryna Makova

Penn State University


Michael A. Mares

Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History, University of Oklahoma


Richard W. Manning

Texas State University (retired)


Marjorie Matocq

University of Nevada


Matthew R. Mauldin

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention


Molly M. McDonough

Field Museum


Suzanne B. McLaren

Carnegie Museum of Natural History


Rodrigo Medellín

Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México


MaryLou Milazzo

University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston


Bianca Montero

North Dakota State University


Anton Nekrutenko

Penn State University


Nicté Ordóñez-Garza

Universidad San Francisco de Quito


Jorge Ortega Reyes

Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México


Bruce Patterson

The Field Museum


John C. Patton

Purdue University (retired)


James L. Patton

University of California, Berkeley, Museum of Vertebrate Zoology (emeritus)


Scott Pedersen

South Dakota State University


Russell S. Pfau

Tarleton State University


Richard Pitts

North Dallas High School


Neal Platt

Texas Biomedical Research Institute


Calvin A. Porter

Xavier University of Louisiana


Marcia A. Revelez

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention


David J. Schmidly

University of New Mexico


Gary Simpson

Consultant, Los Alamos National Laboratory


Frederick B. Stangl Jr.

Midwestern State University (emeritus)


Philip D. Sudman

Tarleton State University


Cody Thompson

University of Michigan, Museum of Zoology


Robert M. Timm

University of Kansas


Ronald Van Den Bussche

Oklahoma State University


Robert S. Voss

American Museum of Natural History


Holly A. Wichman

University of Idaho


Jeffrey K. Wickliffe

Tulane University


Don E. Wilson

Smithsonian Institution


Franklin D. Yancey III

Oakhurst Community College Center, Reedley College